Premier League Players of Year 2023: Haaland, Saka and Rashford are in contention to win the award

The final weeks of the 2022/23 Premier League season will see a tight title battle between champions Manchester City and current leaders Arsenal.

Players from both sides have impressed throughout the campaign with goals and match-winning performances pushing them to the end of the season.

However, in addition to the battle on the pitch, stars from both teams will also fight for individual awards in the coming weeks, including the Premier League Player of the Year Award.

The expected shortlist includes four players who have never won the award before, with coach favorite Erling Haaland following an incredible first season in English football.

MORE: Erling Haaland injury update

What is the Premier League Player of the Year award?

The Premier League Players of the Year award runs alongside two other major individual awards given to Premier League stars in the final weeks of the season.

The prestigious PFA Player of the Year Award is decided by Premier League players, through their members of the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA), while the FWA Player of the Year Award is decided by over 400 journalists through the Football Writers’ Association (FWA).

The Premier League Players of the Year Award is only focused on the Premier League, with its first award being presented in 1994/95 after the third Premier League campaign.

It is decided by a select panel, elected by the Premier League, involving the governing bodies, the media and the fans.

Premier League Player of the Year 2023: The favourites

Haaland’s goals in 2022/23 are nothing short of sensational with the Norwegian international looking to break the Premier League Golden Boot record with Pep Guardiola’s side.

However, Mikel Arteta’s Gunners will look to keep them at bay in the run-up, with coach Martin Odegaard and winger Bukayo Saka in superb form in 2023.

* Odds and odds by Skybet, and correct as of 31 March 2023.

Erling Haaland – 2/5

Haaland’s start to Premier League life in 2022/23 has been incredible with the 22-year-old rampaging through defenses and scoring goals.

Despite the expectations surrounding his arrival at Borussia Dortmund, the Norwegian was happy with the challenge and could break this Premier League record at the end of the season.

Andrew Cole and Alan Shearer scored 34 Premier League goals each for Newcastle United (1993/94) and Blackburn Rovers (1994/95) in the old 42-game Premier League season format.

Mo Salah’s 32 goals in 2017/18 is the highest tally in a 38-game season, with Haaland closing in on three goals, and potentially a string of other awards.

Haaland Premier League stats 2022/23
Games goals it helps
26 28 5

Martin Odegaard – 9/2

The two favorites to win the Premier League Player of the Year Award in 2023 are both Norwegians as Haaland’s international teammate Odegaard looks to drive Arsenal over the line in the title race.

The former Real Madrid playmaker has seen his career transformed at the Emirates Stadium, adding leadership and experience to his impressive ability to dictate games from midfield and score crucial goals.

While Haaland is the favorite to win the award, Odegaard’s role at Arsenal cannot be underestimated, a perfect example of Arteta’s revolution in North London.

Odegaard Premier League stats 2022/23
Games goals it helps
27 10 6

Bukayo Saka – 7/1

Arsenal’s Saka Odegaard is also in the running against Haaland with Arsenal fan favorite enjoying another excellent campaign for the Gunners.

Saka was an ever-present for Arsenal last season, playing in all 38 Premier League matches, and is on course for another consecutive campaign in 2022/23.

The England international has taken another step forward in recent months, becoming one of the most prolific forwards in the Premier League, with his vast experience continuing to shine with crucial goals against Liverpool, Manchester United and Man City this season.

Saka Premier League stats 2022/23
Games goals it helps
28 12 10

Marcus Rashford – 2/15

Haaland’s incredible goal-scoring feats have left other Premier League hotshots in the dark, but Rashford’s 2022/23 campaign goalscored his move to Manchester United with an incredible return to form.

With 27 goals across all competitions, Rashford has already surpassed the previous season’s best tally and will be eyeing the 20+ mark in the Premier League at least.

Eric Ten Hag has laid a solid foundation for United in 2022/23, but Rashford has been the shining star in attack, with the 25-year-old stepping up to the plate following the departure of Cristiano Ronaldo.

Rashford Premier League stats 2022/23
Games goals it helps
26 14 3

Premier League Players of the Year past winners

Only four players have won more than eleven Premier League Player of the Year awards, with Thierry Henry, Ronaldo, Nemanja Vidic and Kevin De Bruyne winning the award twice each.

City have dominated the award in recent years, with De Bruyne a double either side of Ruben Dias winning it in 2021, with Henry the last Arsenal recipient in 2004.

Premier League Player of the Year Award winners
at the time winner position club Genus
1994/95 Allan Shearer FWD Blackburn Rovers of England
1995/96 peter schmeichel GK Manchester Utd Denmark
1996/97 Juninho Med Middlesbrough Brazil
1997/98 michael owen FWD Liverpool of England
1998/99 Dwight York FWD Manchester Utd Trinidad & Tobago
1999/00 Kevin Phillips FWD Sunderland of England
2000/01 Patrick Scallop Med Armory France
2001/02 freddie ljungberg Med Armory Sweden
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy FWD Manchester Utd Netherlands
2003/04 Theodoric Henry FWD Armory France
2004/05 Francis Lampard Med Chelsea of England
2005/06 Theodoric Henry FWD Armory France
2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo FWD Manchester Utd Portugal
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo FWD Manchester Utd Portugal
2008/09 I saw no one Def Manchester Utd Serbian
2009/10 Wayne Rooney FWD Manchester Utd of England
2010/11 I saw no one Def Manchester Utd Serbian
2011/12 Vincent company Def Manchester city Belgium
2012/13 Gareth Bale Med Tottenham d’
2013/14 Louis Suarez FWD Liverpool Uruguay
2014/15 Eden Hazard FWD Chelsea Belgium
2015/16 James Vardy FWD the city of Leicester of England
2016/17 N’Golo Kante Med Chelsea France
2017/18 mo salah FWD Liverpool Egyptian
2018/19 Virgil van Dijk Def Liverpool Netherlands
2019/20 DeBruyne’s cousin Med Manchester city Belgium
2020/21 Ruben Dias Def Manchester city Portugal
2021/22 DeBruyne’s cousin Med Manchester city Belgium

Source link

Ava Grey

Hi there! I'm Ava Grey, an enthusiastic article writer with a passion for the arts, fashion, and staying informed about current events. As a journalism student at the New York Academy of Art, I'm driven to use my writing to create positive change and spark meaningful conversations. I'm particularly interested in contemporary art and sustainable fashion, and I love exploring how people use these mediums to express themselves and communicate their values. I believe that staying informed and hearing different perspectives is essential for personal growth and learning, and I'm always eager to engage in lively debates and discussions.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button